our leadership


Our Pope


our bishop


His Excellency Steven J. Lopes is the first bishop of the Personal Ordinariate of the Chair of St Peter and pastor to all its members and clergy in the United States and Canada. 

On 23 June 2001 he was ordained to the priesthood for the Archdiocese of San Francisco by Cardinal William J. Levada (then Archbishop Levada). As a priest of the Archdiocese, he served as an associate pastor at two parishes: St Patrick Catholic Church in San Francisco and St Anselm Catholic Church in Ross, California. 

In 2005 he was named an official of the Congregation of the Doctrine of the Faith, the Vatican office responsible for promoting and preserving Catholic teaching. For seven of his 10-plus years at the Vatican, he served as secretary to the Cardinal Prefect. He was named a monsignor in 2010. Pope Francis named him the Bishop of the Personal Ordinariate of the Chair of St Peter on 24 November 2015. 

For his motto, Bishop Lopes selected the Latin phrase, “Magna Opera Domini,” or in English, “Great are the works of the Lord.” By these words, our bishop expresses his awe of God’s grace in drawing His people to the fullness of Eucharistic communion.


Parish Priest

Fr. Robert Bengry, serves as our Parish Priest. Father was born and raised on the Canadian prairie but has lived and served in British Columbia and Manitoba as well. He earned a Bachelor of Design, Diploma of Christian Studies and Master of Divinity in Vancouver and served a three-point rural parish in the Anglican Diocese of Brandon for seven years. He also completed a course of study and formation to become a Roman Catholic Priest. Father Bengry was ordained to the transitional diaconate at our Cathedral of Our Lady of Walsingham, Houston TX on the Feast of the Dedication of St. John Lateran Basilica, 2017 and ordained to the Priesthood on the Solemnity of Sts. Peter & Paul, 2018.

director of music & Organist

Troy Lamoureux AVCM, BEd, BMus is a former Anglican who became a Catholic in the summer of 2005 after being instructed in the faith by the Fathers of the Toronto Oratory.  The majority of his career was spent in Edmonton where in addition to his constant involvement in church music, he was the Artistic Director of the community choral programme Cantemus Canada and Principal Conductor of the orchestra Ludemus — Classical Garage Band.  In 2010 Troy received the Excellence in Catholic Teaching Award from the Alberta Catholic School Trustees Association for his teaching in Catholic Schools. Previous to his becoming the Director of Music at St. John the Evangelist Catholic Church and Programme Director of  the Holy House of Our Lady & St. John, he was the Chaplain and Head of Religious Studies at J.H. Picard Catholic School in Edmonton. The Lamoureux family resides in Airdrie and is delighted to attend St. John the Evangelist.

parish secretary

Mrs. Susan Travis serves as St. John’s Parish Secretary. Mrs. Travis is well known at St. John’s and has an extensive background in administrative work. She is a real asset to our team at St. John’s. Office hours are Monday and Thursday 9.00 am – 3.00 pm. Mrs. Travis can be reached at secretary@calgaryordinariate.com or 403.617.0057


Mr. Peter Bentley, a long-time member of the parish, is the Sacristan at St. John’s. He’s responsible for the ‘behind the scenes work’ of the liturgy and leads a team of fine volunteers who ensure the Mass  and public prayer is well provided for.


Mr. Bruce Travis, Treasurer of the St. John the Baptist Deanery of the Personal Ordinariate of the Chair of St. Peter, serves as our Parish Verger. His duties are varied and he’s a great help in the practical day-to-day operations of the parish, especially in the management of the property.

Sexton & Treasurer

Mr. Bob Harrod is our Sexton responsible for security, maintenance, and an hundred other details as they pertain to the care of the church. He works closely with our Verger and can often be seen working at a variety of jobs at St. John’s.

Board of directors

Very Rev. Timothy Perkins
Mrs Kathryn Blair
Mr Richard Harding
Mr Bruce Travis
Mr. Roy Ifill

Pastoral council

Fr Robert Bengry (Chairman)
Mrs Susan Travis (Secretary)
Mr Norman Davis (FC ex-officio)
Mr Peter Bentley
Mrs. Stephanie Nazareth
Mr. Trevers Robinson
Mr. Roy Ifill
Mrs. Theresa Frankel
Mrs. Renae Robinson

the finance council

Fr Robert Bengry (President)
Mr Norman Davis (Chairman)
Mr Bob Harrod (ex-officio)
Mr Richard Harding
Miss Michelle Leigh
Mr Bruce Travis